At First Steps Nursery we work alongside the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) to provide a creative 'learn through play' approach to suit all learning styles.

The learning and development requirements are delivered through seven areas covered by the Early Learning Goals. These important aspects include:

• Personal, social and emotional development
• Communication and language

• Literacy
• Mathematics
• Understanding of the World
• Physical development
• Expressive arts and design

All areas are equally important and are delivered through planned, purposeful play opportunities, with a balance of adult‑led and child‑initiated activities.  All observations are documented and tracked through our computer based iconnect system, which is readily available for parents at all times.

Effective practice is delivered by incorporating the following four guiding themes:

• A unique child
• Positive relationships
• Enabling environments
• Learning and development


Please click here for our Parents Guide to the EYFS.